It is implemented in a plainly malicious manner.

Once you find the option buried in developer settings, get past the 2 scare screens and enter your pin it tells you that you need to reboot and wait 24 hours. The two options it gives you are: “Reboot Later” and “Cancel”. Not only is the requirement to reboot arbitrary, not presenting an option to do so immediately makes it seem like they hope you will forget to reboot later and the flow will deactivate.

If you reboot the 24 hour period starts, but there’s no notification when it ends. You are only able to enable the setting for the next 34 hours. NOWHERE before this is any time limitation mentioned, and if you forget about it and come back to it it will not mention why you need to wait another 24 hours.

If you remember in the time window it presents you with the most egregious scare screen yet: altr

Your device may be exposed to apps created by developers known to have distributed harmful apps

I find this personally insulting. It’s just plainly defamtory to every unregistered developer. If a supermarket put up an ad that says “If you buy from independent shops you might be exposed to shops known to have sold rotten produce” that would be illegal right?

After that it makes you choose between 7 days and permanent. If you accidentally turn it off you have 10 minutes to re enable before you need to reboot and wait again.

  • limerod@reddthat.com
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    16
    ·
    22 hours ago

    Wow. Talk about stupid. The verification flow is made in such a barbone manner and crude manner it will a pain in the ass. Custom Roms are the only way to sidestep this stupidity.

    Since you did not link the keepandroidopen site. It’s here: http://keepandroidopen.org/