Step 1: Open the Settings app, tap on Google (or Google services), then switch to the All services tab. Navigate to Phone number verification under the Privacy and security section and toggle off Verify phone numbers automatically.
According to some of our readers, disabling phone number verification doesn’t persist; the toggle is back on after a while. I haven’t encountered this situation, but let’s hope future fixes ensure that no one runs into issues with their preferred settings.
Phone number verification interface in Google settings
Step 2: If you want to perform a phone number audit, tap your Google Account profile in the same interface (which shows your name, email address, and profile photo), then select Manage your Google Account. You can also go to myaccount.google.com on your phone or computer to do the same.
Select Personal info and remove any phone numbers that are not yours or not in use. On the Phone number interface, check whether your phone number is linked to devices you don’t recognize and remove them.
“This is an opportunity to audit all your sync settings and subscriptions.”
Step 3 (optional): As you’re at it, take a quick look at the other sections to review your sign-in sessions in Security and sign-in, manage app data sharing in Linked apps, and so on. It’s optional, but this is an opportunity to audit all your sync settings and subscriptions.
Google account passkeys interface
Step 4 (optional): You can switch from SMS 2FA to Google Authenticator or passkeys to reduce the risks of SMS-based attacks. To do this, in the Security and Sign in interface, tap 2-Step Verification and set up Google Authenticator or Passkeys following the on-screen instructions.
Step 5 (advanced): To completely separate your Google accounts, you can set up multiple users on a single device — but note that this is for security enthusiasts. With automatic phone number verification disabled, this step provides additional protection by isolating one account’s digital footprint from another’s, reducing the risk of future cross-account attacks.
To do this on a Pixel, navigate to Settings > System > Multiple users, turn on Allow multiple users, and tap on Add user to set it up.
Once they have the data its over. You cant un-collect data in this day and age. There is no assurance that it isn’t retained and sold, legally or illegally. I don’t care about changing settings. If its a default setting, it is too late to opt out, they already have done it.
We need a digital bill of rights. We need a digital bill of rights. We need a goddamn digital bill of rights for our modern age that was inconceivable when the constitution was written.
Once they have the data its over. You cant un-collect data in this day and age. There is no assurance that it isn’t retained and sold, legally or illegally. I don’t care about changing settings. If its a default setting, it is too late to opt out, they already have done it.
We need a digital bill of rights. We need a digital bill of rights. We need a goddamn digital bill of rights for our modern age that was inconceivable when the constitution was written.
we will not get that until we kill a few tech billionaires and their families. then do a lot of lobbying.
and if we’ve killed a few, there’s no reason to jot kill the rest and fullybliberate our shit.
Step 0: Don’t use Google.