

When downvotes are disabled on an instance; they’re just not displayed to that instances users. Nor is the downvote button displayed (so those users can’t downvote).
The instance will still receive and track downvotes from outside instances; showing the data to other instances that don’t hide it. The data is still there, it’s just that the instance admins chose to not display them to their own users.














I don’t think that’s true, just because I’m pretty sure even users that aren’t explicitly subscribed still see the downvotes. I could be wrong 🤷🏻
Either way, the data is still there and is passed around to those that choose to see it. Disabling downvotes doesn’t actually prevent items being downvoted, it just hides them from those that don’t want to see it.